Deutsch
English

Permanent Exhibitions

  • View of the exhibition "Archaeology"

  • View of the Gallery of Paintings

  • View of the exhibition "Decorative arts"

  • View of the exhibition "Historic Toys"

  • View of the exhibition "Dutch paintings"

  • View of the exhibition "Ostracised Modernity"

  • View of the exhibition "Rostock on art works"

Monasteries in Rostock

The Rostock Cultural History Museum is located in the buildings of the historic  convent of the Holy Cross. The medieval  site of the former Cistercian convent founded in 1270 is one of the best preserved convents or monasteries in Mecklenburg–Western Pomerania. The exhibition “Monasteries in Rostock” presents the history of the medieval three monasteries and one convent in Rostock.

Sacred Art

The historic refectory from around 1480 is one of the loveliest gothic rooms on the German Baltic coast. It houses the collection of medieval works of art from Rostock’s monasteries and convent and part of the valuable treasure of the Convent of the Holy Cross.

Dutch paintings

The Rostock Cultural History Museum’s collection of  Dutch and Flemish art of the 16th to 19th century is outstanding. It is not only one of the most important in Northern Germany but is unique in the North East. The extensive collection of paintings by such artists as Jan Breughel, Rachel Ruysch or Willem Kalff is complemented by a large collection of prints and drawings, among others by Rembrandt and van Dyck.

Rostock on art works

The impressive panorama of the port and Hanseatic city of Rostock can be seen in the views of Rostock dating from the early 19th to 20th century. Pictures by Georg Friedrich Kersting, Ludwig Hornemann and others convey an impression of the city on the Warnow with its four great churches and also demonstrate the importance of the city and show how the face of the city has changed over two centuries. Impressive works of art give an impression of the work of artists in Rostock and also reveal the face of the city in the past.

Ostracised Modernity

In the permanent exhibition in the former dormitory the Cultural History Museum presents two core themes from its art collection. The museum’s Bernhard A. Böhmer collection is the last complete set of works from the Nazi “Degenerate Art“ campaign in 1937.

Art in Mecklenburg

The collection of art in Mecklenburg contains a cross-section of art in the region from the first half of the 20th century.

Did you know... ... that the Rostock herring and beer barrel was the only standard measure in the Hanseatic League of the Middle Ages?

Historic toys

In the exhibition of historical toys from its extensive collection, model railways, dolls and doll’s houses, puppet theatres, children’s books, sets of building bricks and much more besides, the Rostock Cultural History Museum offers an insight into the world of children’s play, especially of the upper classes, in the past two centuries. In any presentation of historical toys the main character and object of the exhibition, the child, will inevitably be absent or be idealized. Here the subject is complemented by numerous portraits of children and depictions of children at play. Some additional material is a reminder of the everyday life of children of all social classes as well as the rosy world of toys.

Money

The Rostock Cultural History Museum is home to the most important collection of the history of Rostock coinage. There are also collections of North German coins, coins of the Wendish treasury from the hey-day of the Hanseatic League, medals, banknotes, stamps, and the tools of the Rostock master coin makers. The focus of the permanent exhibition is on the objects from the extensive collections of Rostock and Mecklenburg coins. The exhibition offers a comprehensive overview of Rostock’s coin and money history from its first beginnings up to the 19th century.

Decorative Arts

The collections of applied art comprise around 35,000 objects. Among them are valuable and extensive collections of pewter, silver, ceramics, porcelain and clocks and also historical jewellery.

Archaeology

The exhibition in the west cloisters of the Convent of the Holy Cross displays a selection of eating and drinking utensils from Rostock. They are part of one of the largest archaeological collections in Mecklenburg-Western-Pomerania. From the foundation of the Museum of Art and Antiquity until 1993, the museum collected archaeological objects and was for many years in charge of city archaeology in Rostock. In 1928 the museum purchased an extensive pre-historical and proto-historical collection that was then displayed as a separate department.

Deutsch
English

Dauerausstellungen

  • Blick in die Ausstellung "Archäologie"

  • Blick in den Gemäldesaal

  • Blick in die Ausstellung "Kunsthandwerk"

  • Blick in die Ausstellung "Spielzeug"

  • Blick in die Ausstellung "Niederländische Malerei"

  • Blick in die Ausstellung "Verfemte Moderne"

  • Blick in die Ausstellung "Rostocker Stadtansichten"

Klöster in Rostock

Das Kulturhistorische Museum Rostock befindet sich in den Gebäuden des historischen Klosters zum Heiligen Kreuz. Die mittelalterliche Anlage des 1270 gegründeten ehemaligen Zisterzienserinnenkonventes gehört zu den am besten erhaltenen Klöstern Mecklenburg-Vorpommerns. Die Ausstellung „Klöster in Rostock“ präsentiert die Geschichte der vier mittelalterlichen Klöster in der Stadt Rostock. 

Sakrale Kunst

Das historische Refektorium aus der Zeit um 1480 gehört zu den schönsten gotischen Räumen an der deutschen Ostseeküste. Es beherbergt die Sammlung mittelalterlicher Kunstwerke aus Rostocker Klöstern sowie einen Teil des kostbaren Schatzes des Klosters zum Heiligen Kreuz. 

Niederländische Malerei

Herausragend ist die Sammlung des Kulturhistorischen Museums Rostock zur niederländischen Kunst des 16. bis 19. Jahrhunderts. Sie gehört nicht nur zu den wichtigsten in Norddeutschland, sondern ist einmalig im Nordosten. Die umfangreichen Gemäldebestände mit Namen wie Jan Breughel, Rachel Ruysch oder Willem Kalff ergänzt eine große Sammlung von Grafiken, in der unter anderen auch Rembrandt und van Dyck vertreten sind. 

Rostocker Stadtansichten

Einen Blick auf das beeindruckende Panorama der bedeutenden Hafen- und Hansestadt ermöglichen die Rostocker Ansichten vom frühen 19. bis zum 20. Jahrhundert. Die Darstellungen von Künstlern wie Georg Friedrich Kersting, Ludwig Hornemann und anderen vermitteln nicht nur einen Eindruck vom Panorama der von vier großen Kirchen geprägten Stadt an der Warnow, sondern zeigen zugleich die Bedeutung des Ortes und den Wandel des Stadtbildes über zwei Jahrhunderte. Eindrucksvolle Kunstwerke geben einen Eindruck vom Schaffen von in Rostock arbeitenden Künstlern und eröffnen zugleich Eindrücke vom Stadtbild der Vergangenheit. 

Verfemte Moderne

Mit dem Bestand Bernhard A. Böhmer besitzt das Museum das letzte geschlossen erhaltene Konvolut aus der Aktion "Entartete Kunst" der Nationalsozialisten im Jahr 1937.

Die Ausstellung, das Begleitbuch und der dazu entstandene Film geben Einblicke in das umfangreiche Konvolut der Sammlung und zeigen zugleich Tatbestände über die grausame Kulturpolitik des deutschen Nationalsozialismus, die Verfemung von Kunstwerken und Künstlern, und damit einen der dunkelsten Abschnitte deutscher Geschichte auf. 

Kunst in Mecklenburg

Der Blick in das künstlerische Schaffen in Mecklenburg in der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts zeigt eine fern der Kunstzentren entstandene aber dennoch eindrucksvolle und vielfältige Kunstlandschaft. Junge Künstler aus dem Land brachten von den Akademien Gedanken und Anregungen mit. Die Schönheit Mecklenburgs zog weitere Künstler an. Der Austausch in den Künstlerkolonien Ahrenshoop und Schwaan wirkte befruchtend.

Wussten Sie eigentlich... ... dass 1851 der erste seegehende eiserne Schraubendampfer Deutschlands in Rostock gebaut wurde?

Spielzeug

Das Kulturhistorische Museum Rostock präsentiert aus seinen umfangreichen Beständen eine Ausstellung historischer Spielzeuge. Eisenbahnen, Puppen und Puppenstube, Theater, Kinderbücher, Baukästen und vieles mehr vermitteln einen Einblick in die Welt des Kinderspiels vor allem der gehobenen Schichten in den vergangenen zwei Jahrhunderten. Jede Präsentation historischen Spielzeugs muss zwangsläufig den Hauptakteur und Gegenstand der Ausstellung, das Kind, vermissen lassen oder idealisieren. Deshalb ergänzen immer wieder zahlreiche Kinderporträts und Darstellungen spielender Kinder das Thema. Einige alltagsgeschichtliche Exkurse unternehmen den Versuch, Kinderalltag aller Schichten neben der heilen Welt des Spielzeugs in Erinnerung zu bringen. 

Münzen

Das Kulturhistorische Museum Rostock beherbergt die bedeutendste Sammlung zur Rostocker Münzgeschichte. Weiterhin zählen Kollektionen norddeutscher Münzen, Münzen des Wendischen Münzvereins aus der Blütezeit der Hanse, Medaillen, Papiergeld, Briefmarken und die Rostocker Münzmeisterwerkzeuge zur Sammlung. Im Zentrum der Dauerausstellung stehen die Objekte aus den reichen Beständen Rostocker und Mecklenburger Münzen. Die Ausstellung bietet einen umfassenden Überblick über die Rostocker Münz- und Geldgeschichte von den Anfängen bis ins 19. Jahrhundert.  

Kunsthandwerk

Die kunsthandwerklichen Sammlungen umfassen rund 35.000 Objekte. Zu den kostbaren und umfangreichen Beständen gehören die Bereiche Zinn, Silber, Keramik, Porzellan und Uhren, aber auch historischer Schmuck.  

Archäologie

Die Ausstellung im westlichen Kreuzgang des Klosters zum Heiligen Kreuz präsentiert eine Auswahl von Eß- und Trinkgeschirr aus Rostock aus einer der größten archäologischen Sammlungen Mecklenburg-Vorpommerns. Das Museum sammelte von der Gründung seiner Altertumsabteilung bis in das Jahr 1993 archäologische Objekte und war lange Zeit auch für die Stadtarchäologie in Rostock zuständig. 1928 erwarb das Museum für seine Bestände einen umfangreichen ur- und frühgeschichtlichen Bestand, der als eigene Abteilung präsentiert wurde.