Deutsch
English

Decorative Arts

  • View of the exhibition "Decorative Arts"

  • View of the exhibition "Decorative Arts"

The applied arts collections comprise about 35,000 items. Pewter, silver, ceramics and clocks are among the most valuable and extensive as are also examples of historical jewellery.
The collections range from the 15th to the early 20th century and document the development of the applied arts. In the collections of the Cultural History Museum ceramics are mainly represented by objects from the later epochs of European ceramics history. There are especially beautiful objects in the three main materials, faience, stoneware and porcelain.
The precious objects of the glass collection include the Lohgerber glasses, enamelled beakers dating from the first half of the 18th century. Made for the Rostock tanners’ guild, the 12 apostle glasses and the Prince Elector’s Tankard are part of the so-called Tanners’ Treasure that also includes 25 pewter vessels and 40 silver plaques. The colourful painting on the glasses is in the Venetian tradition that, although long out of fashion in Venice, continued to be popular in Germany until after 1800. The pewter collection of the Rostock Cultural History Museum is one of the most important collections of its kind in Northern Germany. The focus here is on the drinking vessels of the Rostock craft guilds.
Welcome cups, so called because they were passed from hand to hand for a welcome drink, are among the most magnificent objects made by Rostock’s pewterers. They were made for the banquets of the city’s craft guilds and are decorated with crests and insignia of the crafts. Silver plaques were hung around the goblets. These were the guild’s nest eggs.
A rococo table clock from Zühr Manor in Mecklenburg and pocket watches made by Rostock clockmakers are proof that lavishly decorated cases were very popular in the 18th century. Classical designs in ebony and alabaster demonstrate the Empire-Style about 1800 and warm mahogany dominates the Biedermeier period when clocks became a common feature of middle-class furnishings. This part of the exhibition finishes with cheap clocks mass-produced in the Black Forest that reached Rostock towards the end of the 19th century making it possible now for poorer households to have clocks.

Deutsch
English

Kunsthandwerk

  • Blick in die Ausstellung "Kunsthandwerk"

  • Blick in die Ausstellung "Kunsthandwerk"

Die kunsthandwerklichen Sammlungen umfassen rund 35.000 Objekte. Zu den kostbaren und umfangreichen Beständen gehören die Bereiche Zinn, Silber, Keramik und Uhren, aber auch historischer Schmuck. 

Zeitlich vom 15. bis zum beginnenden 20. Jh. reichend, dokumentieren die Bestände die Entwicklung des Kunsthandwerks. Das Material Keramik ist in den Sammlungen des Kulturhistorischen Museums hauptsächlich durch Erzeugnisse aus den jüngeren Epochen der europäischen Keramikgeschichte vertreten. Die drei wichtigsten Materialgruppen, Fayence, Steingut und Porzellan werden anhand besonders schöner Stücke vorgestellt.

Zu den Kostbarkeiten der Glassammlung gehören die Lohgerbergläser, emaillebemalte Bechergläser aus der ersten Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts. Im Auftrag des Rostocker Lohgerberamtes angefertigt, sind die 12 Apostelgläser und der Kurfürstenhumpen Teil des sogenannten Lohgerberschatzes, der außerdem noch 25 Zinngefäße und 40 Silberschilder enthält. Die farbenfrohe Malerei auf den Gläsern folgt venezianischen Vorbildern, die, in Venedig längst aus der Mode, in Deutschland noch bis nach 1800 fortlebten. Die Zinnsammlung des Kulturhistorischen Museums Rostock ist eine der bedeutendsten Sammlungen ihrer Art in Norddeutschland. Das Trinkgeschirr der Rostocker Handwerksämter bildet hier den Mittelpunkt des Ausstellungsabschnittes.

Willkommpokale, so genannt, weil sie beim Willkommenstrunk von Hand zu Hand gingen, gehören zu den prächtigsten Arbeiten der Rostocker Zinngießer. Sie wurden für die Festsitzungen der hiesigen Handwerksämter hergestellt und tragen neben Wappen und Insignien des jeweiligen Handwerks oft auch lose angehängte Silberschilder, den Spargroschen der Zunft.

Die Rokoko-Tischuhr aus dem Schloss Zühr in Mecklenburg sowie Taschenuhren von der Hand Rostocker Uhrmacher belegen die Vorliebe des 18. Jh. für üppig gestaltete Gehäuse. Strenge Ebenholz-Alabaster-Gestaltungen stehen für den Geschmack des Empire um 1800 und warme Mahagonitöne herrschen in der Zeit des Biedermeier vor, als die Uhr zur selbstverständlichen bürgerlichen Wohnungsausstattung wurde. Der Abschnitt schließt mit den billigen Uhren aus Schwarzwälder Massenproduktion, die im ausgehenden 19. Jh. auch nach Rostock kamen und eigene Uhren nun ärmeren Haushalten zugänglich machten.