The Convent of the Holy Cross

  • Aerial photography

  • Courtyard of the Convent, postcard, early 20th century

  • Painted nun’s cell in the north-west wing, about 1560

  • View of the south wingof the convent, about 1975

  • Painting of the foundation of the Convent of the Holy Cross, detail, 1705/1756

Foundation by Queen Margaret of Denmark 1270

The Convent of the Holy Cross was endowed in 1270 by Margaret, Queen of Denmark, and her cousin Waldemar of Rostock as atonement according to a legend from around 1300. The Rostock convent is named after the founding relic, a splinter from the cross of Christ, which Margaret is supposed to have brought to Rostock from her pilgrimage to Rome. The widowed Queen probably spent the last years of her life in the convent that had been authorized in 1276 by Pope Innocent II.  After her death in 1282 she was buried in the Doberan Monastery. This fact seems to contradict her role as the only founder. It is more likely that citizens of Rostock played a greater role as founders than has been assumed up till now.

Stiftungsbild des Klosters zum Heiligen Kreuz, 1705/1756
Painting of the foundation of the Convent of the Holy Cross, 1705/1756

The convent in the Middel ages

The Cistercian convent was one of four medieval monasteries and convents in Rostock. The existence of St. Katherine’s Franciscan monastery (St. Katharinen) since 1243 in the eastern part of the Old Town is documented. St. John’s Dominican monastery (St. Johannis) in the centre of town was endowed in 1256. The nuns settled in the south-west area of the New Town, the most recent of the medieval Rostock town areas, constructed in the middle of the 13. century. In 1456 the house of the “Brothers of Common Life“, St. Michael’s monastery (Michaeliskloster) was built in Altbettelmönchstraße.

Cistercian convent

Seal of the Convent of the Holy Cross, 14th century

Although the rules of the Cistercians stipulated, “None of our monasteries or convents is to be erected inside towns, castles or villages, but only in remote, desolate areas far from the concourse of men“, Holy Cross was built inside the town boundary.
There were probably 20 nuns living here in 1300. In 1354 their number was reduced to 60. Holy Cross was a large and economically strong convent. Land ownership and income were increased in the Middle Ages by endowments and purchase of land. In 1492 the Bishop of Schwerin reorganized the convent. From then on 40 nuns and 10 lay sisters were living here. Holy Cross mostly admitted daughters of burgher families in Rostock. The nuns had to contribute a dowry to the convent.
At the head was the abbess, called prioress. She was in charge of the convent and had disciplinary power over the nuns. From 1453 on she was assisted by a subprioress. The provost, in the Middle Ages usually a Dominican monk from St. John’s Monastery, was responsible for the administration of the convent and its property.

South wing and west wing

Inner courtyard of the Convent

Probably from 1307 on, the southern wing of the convent enclosure was built with the nuns’ dormitory on the upper floor and the common rooms and meeting rooms on the ground floor.
The south wing underwent changes in the late 15th century. The three rooms on the ground floor were united into one large arched refectory. Reconstruction completed in 1985  saw later additions removed and the impressive, double-spanned hall  regained.
In the second half of the 15th century another wing was built to the north-west of the enclosure. The upper floor served as a dormitory. The convent hospital was also situated in the north-west wing.
In the first quarter of the 14th century the west wing was built. On the ground floor were the winter and summer refectories, and a dayroom, upstairs another dormitory that was needed because the number of nuns had increased quickly.

North wing and east wing

Adjacent to the church is the north wing, today completely different inside from the original. The sexton’s office and rooms for the provost were situated here.
In the late 15th century a solidly built, two-storey gateway building with summer cells upstairs for the prioress and the subprioress was attached to the east cloisters. This replaced the original entrance on the north side. The present-day gatekeeper’s office was built there in 1734.
In addition to the convent enclosure, the convent also had other buildings such as the washhouse, the cookhouse, the provost’s residence, the brewery, the barn and the stables situated in the Nuns’ Court to the east of the convent enclosure. Apart from a few remains of the brewery and part of the convent wall that was still there or has been reconstructed, none of these buildings, once so important for the running of the convent, have survived.


Painted nun’s cell in the north-west wing, about 1560

During the reformation the convent was converted in 1584 into a Protestant endowment for ladies. The transition of Rostock to the Lutheran doctrine began in 1524 with the sermons of Joachim Slüter in St. Peter’s church (Petrikirche). In 1531 the town council decreed the Lutheran way of preaching compulsory in the churches and the dissolution of the monasteries and convents.
While the monasteries disappeared, the Cistercian nuns repelled the attempts of the council to appoint a Lutheran preacher to the convent church, carry out inspections and close the convent. It was not until 1558 that some nuns converted to the new faith. The prioress converted in 1562.

Protestant Endwoment for Ladies

East wing with view to the church, 1920-30

In a contract of inheritance between the Dukes of Mecklenburg and the city of Rostock the Convent of the Holy Cross was converted in 1584 into a Protestant endowment for unmarried daughters of Rostock families and Mecklenburg aristocrats.
The convent rules of 1586 gave it a new constitution that regulated the life of the members of the convent. From 1605 on there were 20 ladies living in the Convent of the Holy Cross. On admission they took a vow and contributed a dowry of at least 100 talers.
The start with, the convent ladies used the cells of the nuns, but as time went on apartments were created inside the enclosure, consisting of several rooms that the residents could decorate to their liking.
The head of the convent was the Domina, very similar to the traditional medieval prioress. A convent provost was responsible for the administration of the land property.
With the general decline in Mecklenburg in the 17th century the economic situation of the convent also deteriorated. In the 18th and 19th century land was lost. 
After several attempts to confiscate its property in the 19th century, the Convent of the Holy Cross was closed in 1920 during the Weimar Republic and its property confiscated by the Free State of Mecklenburg-Schwerin. The convent ladies who were living there at this time retained a life-long right of residence.

The convent church of the Holy Cross (University church)

Klosterkirche vom Wall aus gesehen
Convent church seen from the ramparts

Building of the convent church began in the middle of the 14th century and was completed about 1350/60. The three-naved basilica with its single-nave polygonal choir has, as the building regulations of the Cistercians required, no tower but only the characteristic turret. There is no transept. In this it differs from other Cistercian churches, which after the middle of the 13th century were nearly always single-naved. The convent church of the Holy Cross was comprehensively restored in 1898/99 by the architect Ludwig Gotthilf Möckel. Since then it has been the university church.
The cross-rib vaulted interior is characterized nowadays by the neo-gothic painted decoration. In 1861 and 1898 elements that were important for a convent church such as the nuns’ gallery in the nave and the rood screen that separated the nave and the chancel were removed.
The high altar from the 1st half of the 15th century, an altar originally in the nuns’ gallery, the tabernacle and 49 medieval grave slabs have been preserved. It is probable but not certain that the relic of the Crucifixion on the breast of the crucified Christ in the triumphal crucifixion scene is the one said to have been brought to Rostock from her pilgrimage to the pope in Rome by Queen Margaret.
After wartime destruction in 1944 and losses due to the reconstruction and transformation of Rostock’s town centre into a socialist city, the convent complex is one of the last remaining complete medieval sites in Rostock.



Opening times

Tuesday  to Sunday
10:00 to 18:00

Admission free

Deutsch
English

Das Kloster zum Heiligen Kreuz

  • Luftaufnahme

  • Klosterhof, Ansichtskarte, Anfang 20. Jahrhundert

  • Nonnenzelle, 15. Jahrhundert, Ausmalung um 1560

  • Blick in den Südkreuzgang, um 1975

  • Stiftungsbild des Klosters zum Heiligen Kreuz, Detail, 1705/1756

Gründung durch Königin Margarete von Dänemark 1270

Das Kloster zum Heiligen Kreuz wurde im Jahre 1270 durch Königin Margarete mit Zustimmung ihres Vetters Waldemar von Rostock als Sühne gestiftet, wie eine um 1300 entstandene Legende berichtet. Das Rostocker Kloster ist nach der Gründungsreliquie, einem Splitter vom Kreuz Jesu Christi, benannt, die Margarete von der Pilgerfahrt aus Rom nach Rostock gebracht haben soll. Die verwitwete Königin lebte wahrscheinlich die letzten Jahre ihres Lebens im 1276 von Papst Innozenz V. bestätigten Kloster. Nach ihrem Tod 1282 wurde sie im Kloster Doberan beigesetzt, was gegen ihre Rolle als alleinige Stifterin spricht. Wahrscheinlicher ist, dass Rostocker Bürger als Stifter größeren Einfluss nahmen als bisher vermutet.


Stiftungsbild des Klosters zum Heiligen Kreuz, 1705/1756
Stiftungsbild des Klosters zum Heiligen Kreuz, 1705/1756

Das Kloster im Mittelalter

Das Zisterzienserinnenkloster war eines von vier mittelalterlichen Klöstern und Konventen in der Stadt Rostock. Neben dem seit 1243 nachweisbaren Franziskanerkloster St. Katharinen in der östlichen Altstadt und dem 1256 gestifteten Dominikanerkloster St. Johannis in der Mittelstadt siedelten sich die Nonnen im südwestlichen Teil der Neustadt, der Mitte des 13. Jahrhunderts angelegten, jüngsten der mittelalterlichen Rostocker Teilstädte an. 1456 entstand in der Altbettelmönchstraße das Fraterhaus der „Brüder vom gemeinsamen Leben“ (Michaeliskloster).


Zisterzienserinnenkloster

Siegel des Klosters zum Heiligen Kreuz, 14. Jh.

Obwohl die Ordensregel der Zisterzienser bestimmte: „Keines unserer Klöster ist in Städten, Kastellen oder Dörfern zu errichten, sondern an entlegenen Orten, fern vom Verkehr der Menschen“, entstand Heiligkreuz innerhalb der Stadtmauer.

Um 1300 lebten hier wahrscheinlich 20 Nonnen. Später wuchs ihre Zahl beträchtlich. 1354 wurde sie auf 60 reduziert. Heiligkreuz war ein großes und wirtschaftlich starkes Kloster. Der Grundbesitz und die Einkünfte wurden im Mittelalter durch Stiftungen und Zukäufe stark vermehrt. 1492 ordnete der Bischof von Schwerin das Kloster neu. Seitdem lebten hier 40 Nonnen und 10 Laienschwestern. Heiligkreuz nahm vorwiegend Töchter aus bürgerlichen Familien Rostocks auf. Die Nonnen hatten eine Mitgift in das Kloster einzubringen.

An der Spitze stand die als Priorin bezeichnete Äbtissin. Sie besaß die Aufsicht über das Kloster und hatte die Disziplinargewalt über die Nonnen. Seit 1453 stand ihr eine Unterpriorin als Vertreterin zur Seite. Der Propst, im Mittelalter meist ein Dominikanermönch aus dem Johanniskloster, war für die Verwaltung des Klosters und seines Besitzes verantwortlich. 


Südflügel und Westflügel

Klosterinnenhof

Vermutlich ab 1307 entstand der Südflügel der Klausur mit dem Schlafsaal der Nonnen, dem Dormitorium, im Dachgeschoss sowie Aufenthalts- und Versammlungsräumen im Erdgeschoss.

Der Südflügel erfuhr im späten 15. Jahrhundert Veränderungen. Die drei Räume im Erdgeschoss wurden zu einem großen gewölbten Refektorium zusammengefasst. Mit der Restaurierung bis 1985 wurden die späteren Einbauten entfernt und der eindrucksvolle zweischiffige Saal wieder gewonnen.

In der 2. Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts wurde nordwestlich der Klausur ein weiterer Flügel erbaut, dessen Obergeschoss als Dormitorium diente. Im Nordwestflügel lag auch das Hospital des Klosters.

Ebenfalls im 1. Viertel des 14. Jahrhunderts wurde der Westflügel errichtet. Hier lagen im Erdgeschoss das Winter- und das Sommerrefektorium sowie ein Tagesraum, im Obergeschoss ein weiteres Dormitorium, das notwendig wurde, weil die Zahl der Nonnen rasch stieg.


Wussten Sie eigentlich... ... dass es in Rostock Bruchfischer und Straßenfischer gab?

Nordflügel und Ostflügel

An die Kirche schließt der heute im Inneren völlig veränderte Nordflügel an. Hier befanden sich ursprünglich die Küsterei und Räume für den Probst.

An den östlichen Kreuzgang wurde im späten 15. Jahrhundert ein massiver zweigeschossiger Eingangsbau mit den Sommerzellen der Priorin und Unterpriorin im Obergeschoss angebaut, der den ursprünglich im Norden gelegenen Zugang ablöste. An seiner Stelle entstand 1734 die heutige Pförtnerei. 

Neben der Klausur umfasste das Kloster weitere Gebäude wie Waschhaus, Küchenhaus, Propstei, Brauhaus, Klosterscheune oder Stallungen, wobei letztere auf dem östlich der Klausur befindlichen Nonnenhof, dem Wirtschaftsbereich, lagen. Bis auf wenige Reste des Brauhauses und der noch in Teilen erhaltenen beziehungsweise rekonstruierten Klostermauer sind diese für die Funktion des Klosters wichtigen Bauten nicht erhalten.


Reformation

Nonnenzelle im Nordwestflügel mit Bemalung, um 1560

Das Kloster wurde während der Reformation 1584 in ein evangelisches Frauenstift umgewandelt. Der Übergang Rostocks zur lutherischen Lehre begann 1524 mit den Predigten Joachim Slüters an St. Petri. 1531 verfügte der Rat, nur noch lutherisch zu predigen und die Klöster zu schließen.

Während die Mönchsklöster verschwanden, wehrten die Zisterzienserinnen die Versuche des Rates ab, einen lutherischen Prediger an der Klosterkirche einzusetzen, Visitationen durchzuführen und das Kloster zu schließen. Erst 1558 wandten sich einige Nonnen dem neuen Glauben zu. Die Priorin trat 1562 über. 


Evangelisches Damenstift

Ostkreuzgang mit Blick zur Kirche, 1920-30

In einem Erbvertrag zwischen den mecklenburgischen Herzögen und der Stadt wurde das Kloster 1584 in ein evangelisches Frauenstift für unverheiratete Töchter Rostocker Familien und mecklenburgischer Adliger umgewandelt.

Mit der Klosterordnung 1586 erhielt es eine neue Verfassung, die das Leben der Konventualinnen regelte. Seit 1605 lebten 20 Stiftsdamen im Kloster zum Heiligen Kreuz. Bei ihrer Aufnahme legten sie ein Gelübde ab und brachten eine Mitgift von mindestens 100 Talern ein.

Während die Stiftsdamen zunächst die Schlafzellen der Nonnen nutzten, entstanden innerhalb der Klausur allmählich Wohnungen mit mehreren Räumen, welche die Bewohnerinnen nach ihrem Geschmack einrichten konnten.

An der Spitze des Stiftes stand die in der Tradition der mittelalterlichen Priorin stehende Domina. Ein Klosterpropst war für die Verwaltung des Grundbesitzes zuständig.

Mit dem allgemeinen Niedergang in Mecklenburg im 17. Jahrhundert verschlechterte sich die wirtschaftliche Situation auch für das Stift. Im 18. und 19. Jahrhundert schrumpfte der Grundbesitz.

Nach mehreren Versuchen zur Einziehung des Besitzes im 19. Jahrhundert wurde das Kloster zum Heiligen Kreuz in der Weimarer Republik 1920 geschlossen und der Besitz durch den Freistaat Mecklenburg-Schwerin eingezogen. Die Stiftsdamen, die zu diesem Zeitpunkt hier lebten, behielten lebenslanges Wohnrecht. 


Klosterkirche zum Heiligen Kreuz (Universitätskirche)

Klosterkirche vom Wall aus gesehen
Klosterkirche vom Wall aus gesehen

Die Klosterkirche entstand Mitte des 14. Jahrhunderts und war um 1350/60 vollendet. Die dreischiffige Basilika mit einschiffigem, polygonalem Chor ist entsprechend der Bauvorschriften der Zisterzienser turmlos und besitzt nur den charakteristischen Dachreiter. Ein Querhaus fehlt. Damit weicht sie von den übrigen Zisterzienserkirchen ab, die zudem seit der Mitte des 13. Jahrhunderts mit wenigen Ausnahmen nur einschiffig waren. Die Klosterkirche zum Heiligen Kreuz wurde 1898/99 durch den Architekten Ludwig Gotthilf Möckel umfassend restauriert. Seitdem dient sie als Universitätskirche.

Der kreuzrippengewölbte Innenraum wird heute durch die neogotische Ausmalung bestimmt. 1861 und 1898 wurden für eine Klosterkirche wichtige Bauteile wie die Nonnenempore im Langhaus und der als Schranke zwischen Langhaus und Chor erhaltene Lettner mit der Kanzel entfernt.

Erhalten blieben der Hochaltar aus der 1. Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts, der Altar von der Nonnenempore, das Sakramentshaus und 49 zumeist mittelalterliche Grabplatten. Dass die Kreuzigungsreliquie, die Königin Margarete von ihrer Pilgerfahrt zum Papst nach Rostock gebracht haben soll, diejenige ist, die sich heute an der Triumphkreuzgruppe auf der Brust des Gekreuzigten befindet, ist wahrscheinlich, aber nicht gesichert.

Nach den Kriegszerstörungen 1944 und den Verlusten, die mit dem Wiederaufbau und der Umgestaltung der Innenstadt Rostocks zur sozialistischen Großstadt verbunden waren, stellt der Klosterkomplex eines der letzten geschlossenen Bauensembles des Mittelalters in Rostock dar.

 

 

Öffnungszeiten
Dienstag bis Sonntag
10.00 bis 18.00 Uhr  

Eintritt frei

Aktuelle Ausstellungen